//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Silk, Chickens and Aero Flights

The Fabulous Flossies

Hi Folks! It’s been a month or more since I last wrote here an I hope not to let so much time pass for another entry. The last month of school is always very busy for me and this year has proved not to be an exception. My theatre production class produced a very funny Saturday Night Live show a few weeks ago and tomorrow, all of my theatre classes are contributing to our 16th annual Fracture Fairy Tales where they perform short skits for elementary school kids. On top of that I came down with my annual case of Poison Ivy for which I am put on steroids. So now I am big and muscular. Not!

Dale and I are raising chickens: two weeks ago we received six chicks in the mail. (And isn’t it amazing that when God created chicks he knew in advance to allow them to live three days off the nutrients they received in the shell.  Thus, they could also last up to three days in the U.S. mail.) They were born on a Monday, May 21, and we received them the next day. We named them the Flossie Girls; when each becomes a lady she will be referred to as Miss Flossie.

Silk Screen Peter Pan Programme April 4-1907

Two weeks ago Katherine Hollom, a descendent of the Hollom stage family in England at the turn of last century, sent me a scan of a silk screen of a Peter Pan programme with Pauline Chase from the Theatre Royal in Dublin dated April 4, 1907  including Herbert Henry Hollom as Michael Darling. This was perfect timing as my latest blog entry covered the 1906-07 touring company. I asked Kathleen if I might use that scan here and she gave me the OK. Enjoy!

And speaking of Pauline Chase, check out the cover from this magazine. When I purchased it last week I thought the caption was a cute little tongue -in-cheek quip referring to Pauline’s flight record as Peter. I had no idea that she actually went flying on airplanes  for fun.

In a review of the book Chasing Icarus by Gavin Leddy, reviewer Gavin Mortimer wrote:

Pauline Chase on the cover of Aero, America’s Aviation Weekly magazine.

“Claude Grahame-White, whom Mortimer describes as ‘arguably the most famous man in America’ in the days leading up to the Belmont Park event. The British aviator possessed matinée idol good looks, wealth, and international fame. Most important for both the voyeuristic press and public, Grahame-White took as many risks in his personal life (especially with women) as he did while flying planes. Mortimer describes Grahame-White’s engagement to American actress Pauline Chase and then shows the British pilot simultaneously wooing a beautiful Boston socialite named Eleonora Sears.

Mortimer hints that Grahame-White may have been safer in the air than on the ground. At the Belmont Park event, newspaper reporters went into a feeding frenzy when both the famous Ms. Chase and the wealthy Ms. Sears went looking for their beloved British pilot at the same time: “The reporter from the World trailed Chase toward hangar row, willing Eleonora Sears to appear,” writes Mortimer breathlessly, “And suddenly he saw her, just at the moment Chase did. ‘Hardly had the two conspicuous young women spied each other,’ he wrote, ‘than they promptly proceeded to pass in opposite directions without recognizing .’ ” The spectators at Belmont, and legions of readers across the nation, reacted to the soap opera with open-mouthed fascination.

Pauline Chase was quite beautiful, whether grounded, flying over the stage as Peter Pan, or flying up in the air in a plane.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Silk, Chickens and Aero Flights

  1. When some one searches for his necessary thing, so he/she needs to be available that in detail, thus that thing is maintained
    over here.

    Posted by FrüHzeitiger Samenerguss | April 24, 2013, 7:25 AM
  2. This paragraph will help the internet users for creating new web site or even a blog from start
    to end.

    Posted by Fanny | April 24, 2013, 9:31 PM
  3. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to
    me. Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

    Posted by oral sex | April 27, 2013, 1:22 AM

Leave a Reply

