//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Peter Pan On Tour: 1906 To….

Peter Pan Tour Programme for Monday, March 19, 1906, Edinburgh

When writing a book on a particular subject, especially for which one has a passion, it is quite difficult to actually stop and say, “That’s it, that’s enough.” I had hoped to include a complete list of the cast of the Peter Pan tours in Peter Pan On Stage and Screen; from the first 1906 production right up to current times, or, at least through the late seventies. However, neither my publisher nor I wanted a two-volume Peter Pan On Stage and Screen. Therefore, I just included who played Peter, Wendy and Hook with the thought that perhaps I would include the details on my blog. Ta-dah! Here is the first entry. I shall use scans of vintage tour programmes that I have here at home, photocopies of rare playbills, and Roger Lancelyn Green’s authoritative book, Fifty Years of Peter Pan. I am also going to ask for help from any readers who might have a tour programme that they could scan for this series as it would be wonderful to have at least one representative programme illustrated here for here year. To begin with, I have the 1906 and 1907 tours but then there is a gap until the 1909-10 season. Anyone have a ’08 or ’09 or both? Well, here goes. Oh, and just click on the illustrations for a bigger pic.

1906 Tour cast List for Peter Pan in Edinburgh

There was no tour the first year of Pan. The play closed at the Duke of York’s Theatre on April 1, 1905. Nina Boucicault’s understudy, May Martyn, played Peter on several occasions that season but Nina was performing there for closing night. The following season the play opened for Christmas on December 19th with Cecilia Loftus as Peter. Loftus, also known as Cissie, toured with the play in Edinburgh, New castle, and Liverpool. It was while the company was in Edinburgh that Pauline Chase played Peter for the last week of the tour. The following year Chase began her eight year holiday run as Peter Pan. The illustrations here are from the Theatre Royal in Edinburgh. (I am selling more rare Peter Pan ephemera on Ebay. I thought, perhaps that I would not mention that on my blog, but Dan Patterson set me straight. Didn’t know where to fit that in.)

1906 Peter Pan Scenes as performed in Edinburgh

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

