//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

The Peter Pan Alphabet Painting Book

Peter Pan Alphabet Painting Book

In addition to the several British Peter Pan paint/coloring books, a few were also published in the United States. One of my favorites is the Peter Pan Alphabet Painting Book which was published (probably) in the early 1920s by the Prang Company. The color illustration features Maude Adams in, perhaps, her quintessential photo as Peter. This small image was pasted to the cover of the book. Each  illustration, again uncredited but clearly based on the work of Alice Woodward, takes up a full-page. Perhaps even more rare is to find the American Crayon Company’s Peter Pan Paint Box Set, especially with the paint tablets intact. The image of Adams on the cover is not as refined as

Peter Pan Paint Set

Prang’s painting book but the flat approach works well with the graphics. However, although I have never seen one, there was a paint booklet that came along with the set.

As always, thanks for keeping up with me. I am enjoying writing these posts and sharing thoughts and illustrations. My birthday is in two weeks and I know that Dale has already bought me the new book, The Annotated Peter Pan. I promised myself (out loud) that I would not be tempted to take a peak at the book in our Barnes and Nobles Book Store; so far, so good. However, at dinner the other night Dale allowed me to ask all sorts of questions about it. Oh the temptation!

In school I am directing the musical comedy, Purlie which is based on the play by Ossie Davis. I a having a great time with my students. Today, in particular, it was exciting to see that they had worked out a dance routine while I was at a faculty meeting. They make my job so easy…and fun. Have a great week!

Discussion

5 thoughts on “The Peter Pan Alphabet Painting Book

  1. Good luck with PURLIE! It’s a terrific show. I hope you find a young Cleavon Little and a young Melba Moore to play Purlie and Lutiebelle.

    Posted by Dan Patterson | November 7, 2011, 3:50 PM
  2. Hi,
    Wonderful Web site, and I’ll start following you now. I’m a big fan of your work and would love to correspond. Perhaps you can write to me at the e-mail below.

    Posted by Maria Tatar | November 21, 2011, 2:53 AM
  3. Just had to jump in and say hi Maria! I LOVE the Annotated Peter Pan book!!
    The past few months I’ve been reading Andrew Birkin’s book, then Bruce’s, and now yours! They are all such captivating books…. It’s been a very magical time!

    Posted by Keith Lowe | February 7, 2012, 9:26 AM

Leave a Reply

