//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Where was Peter Pan born?

Peter Pan guarding the Wendy House in Neverland. This lithograph is part of a series that was issued in the late twenties or early thirties in England.

Yikes! I’m doing a book signing at Kimberly Ann’s in Petersburg, VA, (which is where I live) on September 7th and 9th at 7:00 PM. I’m a bit nervous. Today I was going to write a different blog but when Christine DePoortere of GOSH sent me an email this morning I thought that this news was more relevent (and humorous). Apparently, there is a group of people in Dumfries who,  with the help of Joanna Lumley of the television series, Absolutely Fabulous, has been restoring Moat Brae, the house in Dumfries, Scotland, where J.M. Barrie lived while he was at school there. They claim that Peter Pan was born in Moat Brae but Kirriemuir, Barrie’s Birthplace, has also made the news, insisting on their own entitlement. Dumfries is trying to raise 750 pounds for a new roof for Moat Brae (Gracious! Does a roof, even for a historic building really cost that much?) while also attempting to raise several million dollars for a children’s literature theme park in Dumfries. The argument resembles a contest of just who has the biggest “you know what.” Read more in the actual articles (thanks Christine!). Meanwhile, enjoy one of my favorite lithographs, “Peter Guarding the Wendy House.” It was printed in England as part of a series in the late twenties or early thirties. I purchased eight of the series about nine years ago although there appears to be about four or more I’ve yet to see. As for Peter’s birthplace; who knows? Next we’ll hear claims that Peter did not live in Never, Never, Neverland; or Never Neverland, or, for that matter, Never Land. or perhaps Wendy’s house is somewhere else and in desperate need of repair.

 http://www.guardian.co.uk/stage/2011/aug/02/peter-pan-neverland-foreverland?INTCMP=SRCH

http://www.scotsman.com/news/Peter-Pan-row-You39re-never.6817759.jp

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Where was Peter Pan born?

  1. Hmmm. Seems to me Dumfries is trying very hard. I don’t want to spoil anyone’s claim (or joy), but if I HAD to choose, I would say Kirriemuir is the rightful heir to this particular claim.
    Personally I always thought Kensington Gardens, and Barrie’s nearby home were really where Peter was ‘born’.
    I would love to visit Kirriemuir one day.

    Posted by Keith Lowe | September 26, 2011, 8:43 PM
    • Well, everything is political, isn’t it? I chose teaching as a career because it was the one place where I thought ideals and ideas could be expressed. Sadly, even in education, politics are inherrent. (I guess I am more aware of that aspect now that I am chairperson of my department. Ironically, it’s still in the classroom where I am most happy; teaching and working alongside my students.)
      I wouldn’t mind visting Barrie’s birthplace either. I’ve been to London a few times and I could live there (if I could afford it and Dale would be there too with me) quite happily. However, I am enjoying the little city of Petersburg just as well.

      Posted by Bruce K. Hanson | September 27, 2011, 1:50 PM

Leave a Reply

