//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Mary Martin’s Costume by Dorothy Jeakins

Costume design by Dorothy Jeakins for Mary Martin's 1960 video of Peyer Pan

Last week LiveAuctioneers.com auctioned off a Peter Pan costume design created for Mary Martin’s 1960 video. Designed by Academy Award winner Dorothy Jeakins (who won for Joan of Arc, Samson and Delilah,  and Night of the Iguana), the estimate was $600 to $800 with a starting bid of $600. It sold for almost $3,000 and since there was no chance I could win it, I’m crossing my fingers it was bought by an arts or educational institution. (I know, a bit hypocritical, huh?) I didn’t know much about Jeakins but looking her up I found this quote which is attributed to her which I admire very much: “I can put my world down to two words: Make beauty. It’s my cue and my private passion.”

I finished proofing the first half of my book and the index as well. It’s funny to see your manuscript taken and made so orderly and attractive. In particular, I am psyched out by the sensitivity of the designer/s to the size and content of the photos. This last process is akin to the last few weeks before high school graduation; high anxiety.
Discussion

2 thoughts on “Mary Martin’s Costume by Dorothy Jeakins

  1. Mary Martin’s flying – which was electrifying in its day – has been surpassed by both Sandy Duncan and Cathy Rigby in their revivals, but no one will ever sing those songs as well as she did. They were written for her, after all. She was a part of my childhood, and I’ve listened to her and loved her ever since. Thanks for this!

    Posted by Dan | June 19, 2011, 10:09 AM
  2. Hello Bruce,
    I recently introduced myself online as another collector of Pan memorabilia.
    I would love to chat sometime if you are open to it. My email is moonlinermusic@gmail.com
    Congrats on the new book. I’m looking forward to reading it!
    Thanks

    Keith

    Posted by Keith Lowe | June 28, 2011, 3:13 AM

Leave a Reply

