//
you're reading...
bruce k. hanson, christine de poortere, daniel mayor company, hayley mills, j. m. barrie, parent trap, peter pan on stage and screen, pollyanna, Posters

The Book Cover

Book Cover: The photograph of Hayley Mills as Peter Pan was taken by Tom Hustler, Courtesy of Great Ormond Street Hospital Children’s Charity, London.

OK, I know it’s not groundbreaking news but still, I am extremely excited about the book cover design. That’s Hayley Mills for those of you who might be too young to recognize the lass as Peter gazing at his shadow. Perhaps you have seen the twins in the original Parent Trap film? That was (or they were) Hayley too! Although my favorite film with the young actress remains Pollyanna.

I love coincidences! Yesterday, after I opened the email from McFarland Publishing with the attachment of the book cover, Christine De Poortere reminded me in another email of the irony of the Daniel Mayer Company hiring Hayley Mills, the most famous child actress of her generation, to play Peter Pan. It spelled the end of their exclusive rights to Barrie’s play on the English stage for not only had the company leased the huge New Victoria Cinema at Westminster (this was after the Scala Theatre burned down) against the objections of the Great Ormond Street Hospital to showcase their 1969 revival, but the young actress filed complaints with British Actors’ Equity about the poor standards and work conditions. While Hayley received good notices, the critics were quick to write how poorly the play was adapted to the new venue. But then, many on and off stage criticized the Daniel Mayor Company for merely dusting off sets and costumes rather than giving their production of Peter Pan a complete face-lift. The boy who wouldn’t grow old was looking his real age but unlike Dorian Gray, he wasn’t able to hide it in the attic.

Where to find my book? Click below for Amazon.com:

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=%22peter+pan+on+stage+and+screen%22

Discussion

3 thoughts on “The Book Cover

  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted
    to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write once more very soon!

    Posted by nyc storage options | August 7, 2013, 6:16 PM
  2. Thanks much! I’m afraid I am not as diligent as I should be regarding posts but I have enjoyed meeting new friends as well as Peter Pan devotees (is this spelling correct?) on this blog. I look forward to hearing from you.
    Sincerely,
    Bruce

    Posted by Bruce K. Hanson | August 8, 2013, 3:53 PM
  3. I am sure this paragraph has touched all the internet visitors, its really
    really good paragraph on building up new weblog.

    Posted by the-iran.com | September 19, 2013, 1:54 PM

Leave a Reply

